Ministry of Defense

The Defence Minister of the Republic of Armenia is the head of the Ministry of Defence is charged with the political leadership of the Armed Forces of Armenia. The position was established in January 1992 and is currently headed by Seyran Ohanyan. From 1993-1995 there was a concurrent position of the State Minister for Defense held by Vazgen Sargsyan.
The Armed Forces of the Republic of Armenia comprise two services: the Army, and the Air Force and Air Defense.  It was partially formed out of the former Soviet Army forces stationed in the Armenian SSR (mostly units of the 7th Guards Army of the Transcaucasian Military District). Being a landlocked country, Armenia has no navy.
The Commander-in-Chief of the military is the President of Armenia, currently Serzh Sargsyan. The Ministry of Defense is in charge of political leadership, currently headed by Seyran Ohanian, while military command remains in the hands of the General Staff, headed by the Chief of Staff, who is currently Lieutenant-General Yuri Khatchaturov. 

Tel.: +37410-294430, +37410-294699
E mail:,
Address: Yerevan, Bagrevandi 5